Tuesday, April 10

Brother Cadfael

Just who is Brother Cadfael?

He is a 12th Century Benedictine Monk Detective created by Edith Pargeter known as Ellis Peters.
This middle aged setting was supposedly the time of the first crusade. There, our young welsh Cadfael joined and returned sick of the world. He joined the Benedictine Abbey of St. Peter and At. Paul in Shrewsburry, Shropshire. It is near the border of Wales.
In the abbey, Cadfael takes care of the Herbarium. He takes care of sick people and creates the poltice needed but he is not the infirmarer. He finds himself able to solve the crimes happening in the town surrounding the abbey. He is then tasked by the Abbot to solve it in the name of the church.
Because of this, he makes a lot of friends outside the abbey. This includes the dashing young Hugh Behringer. Cadfael becomes the godfather of his son.
Because of his quick thinking and practicality, he is like a detective. Even the sheriff askes his opinion. Since the abbey takes care of the preparation for the dead, he is also like the coroner.
He gets along with everybody and is well-loved.

I like him a lot.
There is a television series I used to watch in Hallmark about Brother Cadfael. He is played by Sir Derek Jacobi. Derek Jacobi plays Covinus in Underworld: Evolutions and as a mortuarist in Nanny McPhee.

Read more here:

Novels: Brother Cadfael Series

  1. A Morbid Taste for Bones (written in 1977, this episode is set in 1137)
  2. One Corpse Too Many (1979, set in August 1138)
  3. Monk's Hood (1980, set in December 1138)
  4. Saint Peter's Fair (1981, set in July 1139)
  5. The Leper of Saint Giles (1981, set in October 1139)
  6. The Virgin in the Ice (1982, set in November 1139)
  7. The Sanctuary Sparrow (1983, set in the Spring of 1140)
  8. The Devil's Novice (1983, set in September 1140)
  9. Dead Man's Ransom (1984, set in February 1141)
  10. The Pilgrim of Hate (1984, set in May 1141)
  11. An Excellent Mystery (1985, set in August 1141)
  12. The Raven in the Foregate (1986, set in December 1141)
  13. The Rose Rent (1986, set in June 1142)
  14. The Hermit of Eyton Forest (1988, set in October 1142)
  15. The Confession of Brother Haluin (1988, set in December 1142)
  16. The Heretic's Apprentice (1990, set in June 1143)
  17. The Potter's Field (1990, set in August 1143)
  18. The Summer of the Danes (1991, set in April 1144)
  19. The Holy Thief (1992, set in August 1144)
  20. Brother Cadfael's Penance (1994, set in November 1145)
* Books I have.

No comments:

NaNo Stats